Follow When Steel Talks
WST google search WST Forum WST facebook page WST on Twitter WST Newsletter Global Steelband listings

Calypso Monarch 2024 Results - Machel Montano is the 2024 National Calypso Monarch

Calypso Monarch 2024

Trinidad & Tobago, W.I. - Machel Montano is the 2024 King of Calypso after performances from twelve finalists at the Dimanche Gras showcase on Carnival Sunday night. The Calypso Monarch competition was organized by the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (TUCO).

First place garnered Montano TT $500,000.00 and a car valued at TT $300,000.00 - the Suzuki Grand Vitara. Second place went to Karene Asche, herself a former Calypso Monarch; she also was awarded TT $500,000.00.

Roderick “Chuck” Gordon took home TT $350,000.00 when he came in third. He too has captured the Calypso Monarch previously. Title defender Duane O’Connor aka “Ta’zyah O’Connor” could only muster ninth place out of the twelve.

Following are the full results of the February 11 final night competition.

Results - 2024 Calypso Monarch Competition
Place Calypsonian Sobriquet Selection
1st Machel Montano  - Soul Of Calypso
2nd Karene Asche “The Calypso Princess” No Excuse
3rd Roderick Gordon “Chuck Gordon” Charlsie
4th Mical Williams “Mical Teja” DNA
5th Helon Francis  - Representing We
6th Stacey Sobers-Abraham “Stacey Sobers” Respect The Tribe
7th Aaron Duncan  - Character
8th Kurt Allen “The Last Bardjohn of Calypso” The First Investigation
9th Duane O’Connor “Ta’zyah O’Connor” Focus
10th Winston Peters “Gypsy” Ungrateful
11th Brian London  - Hell
12th Dillon Thomas “Dilly Suede” It Wasn’t Me

Source:  Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (TUCO)

Leave your comment in the WST forum

When Steel Talks... Everybody Listens!
When Steel Talks News

©2024  When Steel Talks.  All rights reserved